# **State Codes Advisory Committee (SCAC)**

First Meeting – February 6<sup>th</sup>, 2025 10:00 AM – Room 302

## **Minutes**

#### 10am Call to Order

• Dwayne Garriss, Chairman, called the meeting to order. Committee Members, DCA Staff, and Guests were welcomed and introduced.

## Approval of Minutes – July 25, 2024

• Ryan Taylor made a motion to approve the minutes with Tim Williams as second. The motion passed unanimously.

## Agenda Change

• Dwayne Garriss made a motion to amend the SCAC Agenda to reflect a presentation from ICC with Josh Roth as second. The motion passed unanimously.

## Approval of Subcommittee for proposed amendments

- Dwayne Garriss made a motion to approve the Subcommittee with Elaine Powers as second. The motion passed unanimously.
- The first meeting of the Subcommittee will be on March 27th, 2025.

### **Task Force Preliminary Reports**

- Daniel Baiamonte gave a preliminary report of the 2024 International Fuel Gas Code Task Force with the next meeting to take place on February 27th, 2025.
- Elaine Powers gave a preliminary report of the 2024 International Mechanical Code Task Force with the next meeting to take place on February 20th, 2025.
- Scott Roberts gave a preliminary report of the 2024 International Plumbing Code and International Swimming Pool and Spa Code Task Force with the next meeting to take place on February 19th, 2025.

#### Presentations

- Steve Jones from ICC gave a presentation (See attached ICC update for SCAC).
- Kendall Sewell and Bourke Reeve from SEEA gave a presentation for the Georgia Residential Energy Code Field Study (See attached SEEA update for SCAC).

#### **New Business**

• James Brooker made a motion to give a Building Safety Month proclamation from the SCAC with Joel Rodriguez as second. The motion passed unanimously.

Next SCAC Meeting scheduled for June 24, 2025



### Adjournment 12:15pm

• Ryan Taylor made a motion to adjourn the meeting with James Brooker as second. The motion passed unanimously.

#### Attendance

SCAC: Dwayne Garriss, James Martin, Daniel Baiamonte, James Brooker, Susan Carpenter, Bill Edler, Stan Everett, Lucian Gavriliuc, John Hutton, Chad Payne, Elaine Powers, Joel Rodriguez, Scott Roberts, Josh Roth, Ryan Taylor, Tim Williams

Excused Absence: Greg Bohannon, Mike DeLaigle, David Miller, Maurice Redmond

DCA Staff: Ted Miltiades, Donna Brown, Christian Poulos, Jimmy Reynolds, Craig Messina, Shacarri Cheves

Guests: Robby Dawson(NFPA), Christian Baiamonte, Sheryl Tricoco(NFPA), Samuel Rokowski(NFPA), Stephen Jones(ICC), Joseph Wages(NEMA), Don Iverson(SQD), Duane Helton(City of Woodstock), William Taylor(City of Woodstock), Jeff Duckett(City of Marietta), Bourke Reeve(SEEA), Brian Griffin(QAI), Dee Leclair(AIA/SSOE), Paul Laney(Cherokee County/GSIA), Bryan Crosby(Cherokee County/GSIA), Terry Moon(PHCC), Steve Chutka(Siemens), Jake Hill(Forsyth County), Matthew L.(PHCC), Stephen Richards(Uzun&Case), Sam Harvey(Mingledorff's), Roger McDaniel(Ga Power/IAEI), Andy Sumpter(MCA of Georgia), Austin Hackney(HBAG), Kendall Sewell(SEEA)