# MINUTES STATE CODES ADVISORY COMMITTEE March 2, 2023 10:00 A.M.

#### Call to Order

Chairman Joel Rodriguez called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM. Committee members and Department of Community Affairs (DCA) Staff were welcomed and introduced.

## **Approval of Minutes**

The minutes from the June 2, 2022 meeting were read and reviewed. Dwayne Garriss made *motion to* approve the minutes from March 9, 2022 as submitted. Vice-Chair Ryan Taylor seconded the motion. **The Motion** *Carried Unanimously.* 

## Approval Of 2023 NEC Task Force

The formation of the 2023 NEC Task force was approved. Secretary Elaine Powers provided the motion and Bill Duct seconded. **The Motion Carried Unanimously.** 

#### **Review of 2024 Proposed Georgia Amendments**

Joel Rodriguez, Chair, called the order of Amendment Presentations. The Amendments were approved or denied as listed below (See Attached- 2024 Proposed Code Amendments Chart):

- Items IMC-2023-5 -IMC-2023-7 : Secretary Elaine Powers motioned to approve.; Dwayne Garris seconded the motion. The motion carried Unanimously.
- Item IMC-2023-8: Secretary Elaine Powers motioned to approve; Stan Everett seconded the motion. The motion carried Unanimously.

#### Chairman Joel Rodriguez called for a 15-minute break.

- Items IMC-2023-10- Item IRC-2023-16: Dwayne Garriss motioned to approve; Secretary Elaine Powers seconded the motion. The motion carried Unanimously.
- Item IMC-2023-9: Dwayne Garriss motioned to approve; Secretary Elaine Powers seconded. The motion carried Unanimously.
- Item IMC-2023—17: Dwayne Garriss motioned to approve. Tim Williams seconded the motion. The motion carried Unanimously.
- Item IBC-2023-18: Tim Williams motioned to approve; Vice-Chair Ryan Taylor seconded the motion. The motion carried Unanimously.
- Item IBC-2023-19: Elaine Powers motioned to approve; Dewayne Garris seconded. The motion Carried Unanimously.
- Items IECC-2023-1 IECC-2023-2: Tim Williams motioned to disapprove; Bill Duck seconded to disapprove. The motion carried with 2 nays: Ryan Taylor and Stan Everett.
- Item IBC-2023-4: Tim Williams motioned to approve; Dwayne Garriss seconded. The motion carried Unanimously.
- Item ISPSC-2023-3: Dewayne Garriss motioned to disapprove. Maurice Redmond seconded. The motion carried Unanimously.

Minutes State Codes Advisory Committee Meeting March 2, 2023 Page 2

Ted Miltiades informed the SCAC the 2024 Proposed Amendments have been forwarded to Craig Landolt in the Georgia State Fire Marshall's Office.

Dwayne Garriss stated the State Fire Marshall Hearings for the 2024 Proposed Fire Amendments will be in May, 2023.

# **2024** Proposed Fire Amendments:

## **New Business:**

- Ron Anderson mentioned the issue of Hose Bibs regulation being put back into the code as a footnote.
- Andrea Papageorge stated a company installing PEX- AL- PEX piping is claiming the product has been approved in the State of Georgia for fuel gas piping. The SCAC stated this is a false claim.
- Bettie Sleeth answered a question regarding North Georgia Water Authority's power over local jurisdictions.

## **Old Business**

There was no old business announced.

Meeting adjourned at 2 :15 p.m. (Vice-Chairman Ryan Taylor motioned; Secretary Elaine Powers seconded.)

Attached: 2024 Proposed Amendment Chart.pdf; 2024 Proposed Fire Amendment Chart.pdf;

#### **Attendees**

**Members Present:** Bill Duck, Stan Everett, Dwayne Garriss, Bill Guinade, John Hutton Robert Maddox, James Martin, Chad Payne, Windell Peters, Elaine Powers, Bob Qurnell, Maurice Redmond, E. Vance Robinson, Joel Rodriguez, Chad Shaw, Ryan Taylor, Tim Williams.

Virtual Member Attendees: Gregori Anderson, Mike DeLaigle, David Miller

Minutes State Codes Advisory Committee Meeting March 2, 2023 Page 3

Absent Members: Daniel Baiamonte

Staff Present: Ted Miltiades, Jimmy Reynolds, Christian Poulos and Donna Brown

**Visitors Present:** Michael Adams, COA DCP; Ron Anderson, GPTA, Inc.; Wade Anderson, Engineered Solutions; Mike Barcik, Southface; Kenneth Bland, American Wood Council; Diana Burke, NBI; Jacob Colston, GA Power/ IAEI; Derrick Daniel, HBAG; Stephen Davis, Georgia Apartment Association; Nicolette Dunn, COA; Candace Edge, COA; Monica Fendersen, MOSA; Robert Glass, Daiken Comfort Technologies; Deidre LeClair, AIA GA, SSCE; Victor Martin, WJE; Roger McDaniel, NEC Task Force, Ga Power; Ibrahim Maslamani, Chip Owen, City of Austell; Andrea Papageorge, Southern Company; Jonathan Sargent, Omega Flex; Bettie Sleeth, Home Builders Association of Georgia; Mike Staub, Rheem/HTPG; Chuck Wooley, Green County-NEC Task Force;

